How To Erase Your Macbook Before Selling

How To Erase Your Macbook Before Selling it

People with an old Macbooks may decide to donate or sell it when they get a new brand. Before donating or selling your old Macbook, try to empty its hard drive.

Why You Should Delete Your Information Before Selling?

1. Preventing privacy breach

2. Keeping of several crucial items like documents

3. Fight against information theft

4. Safety of private and personal details

Having a passcode or you iCloud account logged in basically makes your devices almost worthless. You will won’t get the most amount of cash you possibly can and most second-hand buyers and resellers will reject the purchase when you show up.

Here, you will see easy steps on how to erase your Macbook before selling it. 

Step One: Backup The Hard Drive Of Your Device:

Having a backup to support your Macbook is a good idea. Before erasing any data, a backup can help resolve any future problems. With a backup, it is possible to handle issues relating to a missing file during the erasing process. 

The most important thing to know in this step is to look for a good backup software or application. Ensure that nothing is put on the software when it starts the backup procedure. The purpose of a backup for this process is to help clone or replicate the hard drive of your Macbook.

There are different ways to backup your date. You can used Apple’s backup solution called Time Machine. The second is using iCloud and the third is using Google Drive to backup your data.

Step Two: Sign Out Of Everything

This includes iTunes, iCloud, iMessage and removing any passcodes that you may have installed.

Are you using iTunes in your old Macbook? It’s important to know that only some devices will gain authority with an iTunes account. On this note, try to stop the authentication of your Macbook. With this idea, you will be able to add another Mac account. Starting iTunes remain the fastest way to stop the authentication of a Mac. 

After commencing iTunes, navigate on the menu option of your account. After navigating on this option, try to click on “Authorizations” with the drop down menu. 

Click on the word “Deauthorize This PC” within the fly-out option that appears to you. The system will demand that you provide the iTunes password. Go ahead and provide the password. Once you enter the password, navigate on “Deauthorize”. 

Step Three: Put Your Mac In Recovery Position After Restarting:

This step entails that an internet connection gets into your Macbook. This will help in the reinstallation of the macOS. If there is a USB or an install disk available, then go ahead to engage in the restarting process. Check the upper left section of the Mac and click on restart to boot the system. 

In the Apple menu, you can always find the word “Restart” and click on it. Hold down the command plus R keys when the Macbook starts to reboot. This is something you should do almost every time as the machine reboots. Continue with this practice until the Recovery Mode display appears. 

Step Four: Clean The Hard Drive Of Your Macbook:

The next step is to navigate on “Continue” after choosing “Disk Utility”. On the left and in the sidebar, you will have to choose the Startup Disk of your Macbook. Ensure that your mouse is pointing to the word “Erase”. 

Finding the clean or erase sign is always on the right corner of the window. Clicking “Security Options” is another way to overcome the fear of theft or privacy breach. This higher form of security will help in erasing any data without a slight recovery. 

Conclusion:

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

Your are ready to sell your Macbook. Private information is very import and it is imperative that you do everything you can to keep your data safe.

Maintaining total safety of your details is crucial when removing items from a Mac. While the measures in this content will help you achieve that goal, be careful of predators. Making safety and security your watch words will help in this process. 

© 2018 Elite Phone Buyers

Designed by Neon Visibility

Close Menu